Renewal

The verb “to renew” has a few different meanings, especially for library folk.  Renewing a magazine subscription vs. renewing your library books.  Or perhaps a renewal can be likened to a renaissance … re-new vs. re-born.

However you interpret this word, I am going to “renew” this Librarienne blog by using it to track my progress through an Independent Study class for my library science degree.  As I am beginning this Independent Study very late in the semester, I have a lot of work to catch up on.  As this is a blog, I’ll be very frank about my observations.  For starters, using my university’s library is a depressing and demoralizing experience.  To truly describe the experience, I’ll have to create a Flickr slideshow that illustrates everything.  You really have to see it to believe it.  For the full effect, you have to be there… but I wouldn’t wish that on anyone.

Next post: just what am I doing in this Independent Study?