Nooks and Crannies

Some people really enjoy the research part of a paper, while others live for the writing part.  I am definitely of the former, and my little joys of late have been the interesting discoveries of obscure library journals that weren’t published for very long but had great articles during their short lifespans.  Tonight’s example is Library Consortium Management: an international journal.  LCM only had 8 issues, from 1999 to 2000, but these few small issues are teaching me incredible things about library consortia!  For example, I’m reading an article about the stages of development for library networks – when they go from simply purchasing shared resources to being “incorporated” and the consortia becomes a body of its own outside of the individual libraries.  I automatically think of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance from my previous life.  The member libraries were from universities and colleges across the Pacific Northwest, but the consortia had its own little office and even staff to handle all the administrative aspects of making sure things went smoothly for the libraries.  This is exactly the kind of thing I hope to chart out in my paper.

One thought on “Nooks and Crannies

  1. Did you really write “had great articles”?

    Welcome to the enlightened “dark side.” I hope you know almost everyone else in our field considers “library journals” and “great articles” to be oxymoronic. 😉

Comments are closed.